No Wifi connection to laptop on home LAN

I’m an ASL newbie. I just finished setting up ASL on a laptop PC. This will be a radioless node for the time being. During setup I think it connected to the internet via my home LAN to download necessary features. However, after installation I cannot connect the laptop to my home Wifi network. I understand it is a linux process to connect to a network rather than ASL. In my /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf file I have a network entry with the correct ssid and password for my home network. After rebooting the laptop it is still not recognized by my LAN.
Bob (KE0SDV)
Node 56376

Taking a guess…
I’m not sure how your created the file but you may want to check/set permissions to the file +rwx
And perhaps ownership of the file?

I changed the file permissions to rwxrwxrwx and it had no effect. The weird thing is that networking was working during installation b/c I had to connect to my home network to download ASL. I remember the script asking me which network I wanted. I entered the password and off it went downloading ASL. But after installation I have no network connection, nor can I establish a connection. If I could recreate what the ASL script was doing during installation maybe I could get the system to connect to my network.

I scoured the Internet and found this page with some suggestions [Using iw to Manage Wireless LAN in Linux (tu.ac.th)] (Using iw to Manage Wireless LAN in Linux). sudo ifconfig -a shows I have an adapter for wireless called wlp2s0. When I tried to execute sudo ifconfig wlp2s0 up I got the response Operation not possible due to RF-Kill. There is a dev/RF-Kill file, but it is empty. I tried sudo iw dev wlp2s0 connect BCHome and the response was command failed: Network is dowon (-100). Looking for more ideas.
Thanks,
Bob (KE0SDV)

I might suguest another set of eyes to /wpa_supplicant.conf file
looking for typo’s
You would be surprised.