General ASL troubles

I have been trying to get a function ASL node running for about a week now.

I am not a Linux newbie. I am not an Asterisk newbie.

My first attempt was with compiling an install from the github repository on a modern Debian install. This was as out and out no-go as it will not build properly with a modern kernel, and I wasn’t going to fool with rolling it back for one program–particularly when pre-compiled images were available.

That brings me to my second attempt using the ASL image for Raspberry Pi B3+. This ran and works perfectly well as a radio-less node, but I wanted to attach a radio. Since ALSA was out, I acquired a RIM Alinco USB device. After reading every single thing I could find, I tried to set that up with chan_simpleusb. After hours of manipulation, simpleusb was completely incapable of detecting any RX to the node.

So next I did what everyone says not to do: I ran usbradio on the Rapsberry Pi. This worked–sort of. The node worked on RX and TX, and I could use DTMF commands–sort of. I am guessing the Pi3 is simply incapable of running the DSP sufficiently because the audio was sometimes stuttering, and thus DTMF failed about half the time.

So next I tried the ASL AMD64 image. (In an attempt to completely eliminate hardware problems, I installed it on a machine grossly overpowered for the purpose). After setting everything up, Asterisk will not start. Here is the status output:

#systemctl status asterisk.service
● asterisk.service - Asterisk PBX and telephony daemon
Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/asterisk.service; enabled; vendor preset: enabled)
Active: inactive (dead)
Docs: man:asterisk(8)

Mar 05 11:30:23 repeater systemd[1]: Dependency failed for Asterisk PBX and telephony daemon.
Mar 05 11:30:23 repeater systemd[1]: asterisk.service: Job asterisk.service/start failed with result ‘dependency’.