System overwritten by IRLP - how to go back?

I have was setting up an IRLP node, unrelated to Allstar, on another machine on my LAN. Because I used the same root password on both machines and because I didn’t route port 22 properly, the IRLP remote installer installed IRLP over my Allstar Raspbery Pi. I see the Allstar files are still there, but the boot sequence doesn’t now startup Allstar.

What is the best way to get my machine back to normal? Should I make a copy of certain config files (please let me know which so I don’t miss one) and reinstall and then replace the default config files with mine? Or is there a standard startup file I can load or reconfigure to make it work again? (I am not well versed in Linux - I can make my way around the file system and edit config files, but I am still learning beyond than).

Thanks in advance.

73 Adrian VE7NZ

For a single node with very little customization I would just reimagined the SD card and work through the first time setup again.

For a server with a lot of nodes or hand customization the procedure is more complex.

• Make a backup, if you can still login. See below
  • Re-image the SD card.
  • Boot the new image and set up networking, user ID, etc

Backup:
Everything AllStar related is in /etc/asterisk. Make a copy of that directory and you have a complete backup of your node. Lot’s of folks like winSCP for that.

Another way to make a backup is to use our backup site. First configure /etc/asterisk/savenode.conf like so:

# config file for /usr/local/bin/savenode
NODE=<your node number>
PASSWORD=<your node password>
ENABLE=1

Then type save-node at the Linux CLI.

That will compress and copy your /etc/asterisk files to http://backup.allstarlink.org.

Restore:
To restore you files login to http://backup.allstarlink.org with your node number and your node password. You will see your last 4 backups. Download the latest, unarchive it and copy to /etc/asterisk.