SimpleUSB and VOX (again) ...yes I know! "VOX BAD dont do it" --- but

Hi All,

Trying to get some locals interested in app_rpt but it seems there’s a growing trend among hobbyists not to pick up a soldering iron! if they cant buy a ready made lead + interface on amazon / ebay “they’re out”

I am myself a LONG time user of asterisk as a SIP PBX (back before even asterisk@home was a thing!) but am about 2 weeks into app_rpt. Fortunately I have 48 years radio experience too.

Dealing with the elephant in the room - I know VOX sucks and the Soundfob mod is the way to go.
I am the converted! they are the unbelievers lets move on !

The counter argument I get is “Mehhhh…with zello you just plug 2 leads into the radio [kenwood mic connectors - 2.5+3.5mm] plug in a Cm108, set the radio to vox and there it is - can’t be bothered with faffing around wiring soundcards and **** like that”

So I embarked on a mission to find out if the same could be done in app_rpt - but thus far I can only get it working one way at a time not true simplex VOX.

Modifying simpleusb.conf produces these results:

carrierfrom = no
ctcssfrom = no

produces good quality 1 way audio

carrierfrom = usbinvert
ctcssfrom = no

produces good quaility audio …the opposite way

I cant find a combination to permit 2 way Simplex vox?

Annoyingly with the system setup for audio In , running the simpleusb setup menu with [t] and [4]
and the radio with VOX produces a lovely tone out of the radio but when I exit, [w] and [0]
and restart asterisk …Still 1 way audio

I even tried modifying the extensions.conf stanza from:

exten => ${NODE},1,rpt,${NODE}

to exten => ${NODE},1,rpt(${NODE}|Pv)

And whilst asterisk didnt complain or stop working I couldn’t get 2 way simplex
VOX

So , am I just on a road to nowhere ? or have I missed something please ?

As zello seems to be moving away from its public access roots I’m keen to generate