ROOT user and other new node problems

I already have a node running and was setting up a second one to deploy somewhere else.
Installed the same image file as before (or at least I thought I did) as soon as I booted up the Pi I noticed something had changed and it was even more obvious as soon as I had to type sudo asl-menu to get into the configuration menu.
OK things get updated so let’s go. Well did all the changes node number, call sign, timezone ETC. I saved everything and rebooted the Pi as instructed. Go back into the asl menu and that is when I noticed there was no option for bash like it used to be before, no problem. Looked around and found the part about installing Allmon2 so I installed it. Save again restart and back to the menu. I am faster with Winscp so I logged in with it and now what used to be a root user or superuser is gone I can’t manipulate files in Winscp because there is no root. ok, so I go back again to using Nano.
No, I am not an expert Linux guy, I know enough to play around and change things that I need to.

Then after supposedly installing allmon2, it’s nowhere to be found. There is no supermon either???
Checking on the server and it is also not registering. I am not new to ASL I have made plenty of nodes for myself and others never had this problem.

In case it is needed this is what I installed on a Pi 3B+
ASL_1.01-20180228-armhf-raspbian-stretch-image.zip

By default, SSH is not enabled.
You need to
sudo nano /etc/ssh/sshd_config

change the values of these lines un-comment as needed
PermitRootLogin yes

While in the asl-menu
You can set root password if you did not already.

Then sudo systemctl restart ssh

====

You should find the installs for allmon in
/var/www/html

I’m not sure supermon was on the Pi image for v1.01 by default, but you can install it.

===
As a side note, if you have a good Pi install you want to duplicate,
copy the image file from the SD (also good for back-up)
write to new SD.