Newbie and the docs are confusing

Ok, Im new to Linux. got my node setup and its connecting…testing it at the house before moving it to the rptr site 4 hrs away. I run a RLC Club on the rptr with preaccess turned on the main port (* precedes all commands)…want to limit ALLStar access using a different START command digit, also to prevent the RLC controller from making a match to a command intended for the ASL commands. Is there a way to do that? I have nano up and cannot figure out HOW to get to the FUNCTIONS or other files to edit them. Like I said Im a newbie…and the HOW TO leave a LOT to be desired for someone who is Windows experienced from getting things done on Linux…wish there was a STEP BY STEP for editing files (NOT just "go to this file /etc/blah blah blah…THAT doesnt help any!)…Is there such a manual or info for those of us NOT LINUX geeks??? :slight_smile: I have opened just about every page I can find and yet its 1000x confusing trying to figure it out.

Now back to my question: Is the START digit configurable? I dont want to use * as the START digit…can I change it??

If I set up the node using the automated commands, is there ANYTHING else I need to do or is it good to go on ASL?? I have NOT edited any files (obviously…I cant figure that out…do I need to put the card holding the files back into a Windows machine and edit them or ??? Yeah this is a new thing to me and I understand SOME of it…but to get to the point where I CAN edit the files is the problem…there is NO example shown on how to access the FUNCTIONS or other Stanzas, etc…(I think I said that right…If not, well that shows my inexperience in Linux)

Thanks for any help, etc…(I hope)

Chris
WB5ITT
trustee W5APX Beaumont/Port Arthur TX 100Hz node 50991
and W5APX Lake Charles, LA 100Hz (node pending)
part of the Gulf Amateur Linked Emergency System (GALE System)
linking I10 from Houston, TX to New Orleans, LA and more

1 Like