New user new node troubleshooting - stuck in transmit

Hi all! I am completely new to the Asterisk/Allstar/appt_rpt stuff but have extensive Linux experience (day job), I have read a lot of things and it seems setting up a node should not be that hard yet my experience has been exact opposite.

I have successfully installed ASL 1.01 and connected to AllStar, linking in via a IAXclient (DVSwitch Mobile) seems to work good.

The problem I am having is with the radio setup, I have a URIxB and configured via asl-menu as SimpleUSB, seems this should do what is needed. However when I use the asterisk CLI to trigger time playback (rpt fun *722) the URIxB’s red transmit light lights up but then stays lit until I restart asterisk. To limit test I detached the URIcables.com cable from the URIxB to ensure nothing from the radio was getting stuck and I could limit testing to the server or URIxB (maybe this not not correct methodology in this case but I did).

Beyond the URIxB I have a cable from uricables.com attached to a Kenwood TM-D710, when the transmit is stuck the radio is keyed but no audio seems to be transmitted (next thing to debug once I know it will inky properly).

Help and feedback is appreciated as I have been working on this for about 2 weeks now with no success.

What is your duplex= setting? It should be duplex=1 for a half duplex mobile radio. The setting is in /etc/asterisk/rpt.conf near the top of the node stanza.

duplex=1 in rpt.conf, I selected it via the asl-menu TUI, not sure if it needs to be set somewhere else too or not

On the surface I would want to think that the tx logic is wrong. I know that may not make sense on the surface, but a possibility.

Do a test and run it through expecting the error, when it gets stuck in TX,
remove the URI from the usb port, wait 3 seconds and plug it back in and tell me what it does.