Motorola SM50 node project

Hi everyone!

I am relatively new to the idea of ASL and I was wondering if I could get some help with my first AllStar project.

Recently, I’ve been given a lot of old wide band radios and one that I wanted to repurpose was a UHF SM50 as an ASL on a Pi 3B.

I’m not quite sure where to start. I have successfully realigned the radio for 440 MHz and plan on using it as a home-based repeater. I can’t remember how many watts it puts out, maybe 25 or 40, I can’t remember. Anyway, these radios have a 16-pin connector on the back for accessories, and I think this would be perfect for interfacing AllStar.

I am also unsure and uneasy with the CM108 method of PTT and audio. Is there any other way to interface PTT and audio?

I guess it all boils down to… where do I start???

Thank you all de KE0SBX

If you are skiddish on modifying a usb sound fob,
you can buy usb radio interfaces (URI) from a host of vendors.
I can’t advise on that as I do not use them, but I’m sure others will chime in.

If you get a pin-out for that radio, you should find all the necessary pins on the moto jack.
Pay attention to the audio type line/discriminator as your choice will affect the software settings.
I believe there is even a speaker out pin, but don’t remember. If you choose that it will need to be attenuated to a line level.

1 Like

Owen I strongly recommend the RA-35 series of interfaces from Masters Communications…