Just got Pi 3+ for use with Kenwood Tkr-851 repeater

Looking for information on how to interface and set up an ALS Node on a Kenwood Repeater.
I get there are things to be set up within the repeater & the RasPi has to be set up with script , but there are many so which one is best.? Then is the RasPi 3+ all i need to interface to the repeater and if so is there an interface cable pre made for it. And it there another device that i need to buy that is hooked up to the RasPi ?
I get I need to register the Node with ALS…
Im new to ALS and just wanting to make the Repeater Available to Hams all over and in our local area over the ALS.
O ly part i have so far is the RasPI 3+…
I need to know what else i need and what is the configuration i need and what if any interface cables are available. The repeater is ready to go on the site and i wantbto get the Link and Node set up before it goes to the Site. THANK YOU FOR ANY HELP…
N7COX
ccox1956@hotmail.com

With a Pi, you will need a USB Radio Interface (URI)
While I do not know if anyone makes a specific set for that Kenwood, you will have to look for it.
But generally, that would make it plug-n-play I would think.

Assuming they do not make a specific URI with cable-set for that,
you will need to do it generically by just attaching to the receiver COS and the TX PTT and finding a good place to get the audio from each.

Configurations can vary. First with the special URI perhaps if you find one, you would need to follow their instructions. Generically, there are several audio options better seen in the config files RadioUSB/SimpleUSB
Being discriminator audio, line level audio and speaker level, padded or not. As well as logic signals.
So the exact config is very dependent on what you are able to acquire from the equipment.

Perhaps a Kenwood repeater user will chime in with their experience.

But I suggest you get started with loading the software on the Pi and get familiar with it.