IP Phone and Creating Extensions

Hi Everyone,

I’ve been playing with a Polycom SoundPoint IP 331 and finally got it connecting to my nodes on my server (yea!). Now I’m trying to figure out how to create extensions in the extensions.conf file to do two specific things.

• First, from the IP phone directly dial another one of my nodes that is attached to a different server. In this case specifically, Node # 49935.

• Second, how to generate an extension that allows the phone to be “called” directly from a node radio via DTMF. For example, to dial 1999 into my node from the DTMF pad and be connected to the IP phone.

Can anyone who is more versed in Asterisk than I am please give me some advice on this?

Thanks in advance, and 73s!

Hi, although I’m not an astareisk expert, i will try to point you in the right direction.

1. In this case, I think that you will need to create an IAX trunk between the two boxes running allstarlink and then create an entry in your extensions.conf to dial the number of the second node over the trunk.
  2. If you check the stock extensions.conf included in the ASL image you will find a section that you must comment/uncomment to enable the phone patch (in my case lines 44 to 52):
; Comment-out the following clause if you want Allstar Autopatch service
[pstn-out]
exten = _NXXNXXXXXX,1,playback(ss-noservice)
exten = _NXXNXXXXXX,2,Congestion

; Un-comment out the following clause if you want Allstar Autopatch service
;[pstn-out]
;exten = _NXXNXXXXXX,1,Dial(IAX2/allstar-autopatch/\${EXTEN})
;exten = _NXXNXXXXXX,2,Busy

You will probably need to make some adjustments in your extensions.conf depending on the contexts you used for your local phone extensions.

I hope this helps.

Best.

Gustavo
LU7WA

Generally speaking, no custom…

Set ‘context’ to radio-contol in your sip extensions.
Now, everything you want to connect to should be inside that context in extensions.conf.

To connect to one of your nodes, create a stanza inside that ext context…