I have (finally) finished construction of the G7RPG server. Now what?

After what seems like a short eternity, I have finished building the G7RPG server. I have an AllStar node number. I have the firmware downloaded and flashed onto a micro SD card and the card is in the RPi 3 B. I preprogrammed the BF-888S with the same operating frequency and tone squelch on all 16 channels. I powered up the server and the power LED came on, and a few seconds later the status LED came on. There is no smoke. I am using a Win 10 PC; I know almost nothing about Linux. Would someone direct me to the next step or two? Thanks.

Have you got a display and keyboard hooked up to the Pi? If you can get direct access that way it’ll make your life a lot easier.

Most folk refer to this collection of hardware as an ‘Allstar node’ BTW, with ‘G7RPG node’ specifically being one that’s constructed and supplied by Peter G7RPG himself.

muppix,
Thanks for the reply; I am still learning the lingo, so please excuse my terminology errors.
No, I don’t have a keyboard and monitor connected, but it should be no problem to hook them up. Then where do I find the procedure to follow?
Charles

Hey Charles,

No problem regarding the terminology. I’m fairly new to this myself and hardly in a position to advise, but there’s a chance that reference to ‘G7RPG Server’ in your thread’s subject line may have caused somebody to scroll past when in fact they may have been able to offer assistance.

If I were you I’d first connect the RPi to a monitor and keyboard, and make sure that it’s booting using the SD card you’ve provided. You will likely already know the default user login and password, and when you enter this on the command line you’ll be greeted with a basic blue menu that will assist you in configuring the node, similar to this one.