I am in the process of building an AllStar node based on the G7RPG design

I am still missing a few essential parts, but they are on order and everything should be in hand by 6 January 2023. I have requested for a server to be added to my account, but have not received a response yet. My first contact via AllStar will hopefully be on my home-built node.

Charles,
Just to clarify, you should request a ‘NODE’ or ‘NODES’ and the server you create on your own at the ASL Portal. You just fill in the server details. IP/PORT of how it can be found and communicated with etc.

login
SERVER SETTINGS under PORTAL

When you get your node numbers, you can assign them to a server(s) you create.
You can assign as many nodes to a server as it physically can support.
I only suggest you use defaults till you have a reason not to , at least till you have it working.

Welcome aboard !

1 Like

Hi Mike,
Thanks for the reply; although I have been a ham for a long time, I am still learning. I will do better with the terminology.
Today, I tried to pre-program the BF-888S and failed miserably. My programming cable contained a Prolific chip, and the driver was outdated. After a lot of trials and errors, I realized that Prolific had intentionally “disowned” the version of the chip in my cable, and I could not update the driver. So, I replaced the Prolific USB to TTL converter with an FTDI device. As it turned out, the cable used a red wire for the RXD and a white wire for the TXD; I can’t imagine why. After swapping the RX/TX connections, it still didn’t work with the 888 and Chirp. But when I tried the same cable with Chirp and two different UV-5R radios, it worked fine with them both. So, I returned the 888 and ordered two more; maybe one or both of them will work. I spent the whole day on the project, and didn’t make much progress.
Perhaps I will accomplish more tomorrow. 73.
Charles

FB Charles,