COR Buffer Circuit design

Hello, I need help with this design. I had it working but when I soldered in permanently it’s on the edge. My resistance is off.
Anyone good at math?

Looks like a pull-up resistor is needed on the collector to 3.3 vdc.

I changed the Base resistance from 46k to 38k and it’s helping with consistency, turning on the 2n2222 harder.
Then I started playing with a pull up on the Collector 3.3V. So far a 82k has lowered the 3.3V to 2.24V and when ON with Busy signal it’s floating about 300-350mV.
Still experimenting. Thanks

https://learn.sparkfun.com/tutorials/pull-up-resistors/all

Motorola MICOR Information Index

You may be running up against the beta gain of the transistor. Since you’re simply trying to fully saturate the junction as a switch - don’t be afraid to go lower with the series resistor to the base. You can go to 1k without causing damage to the transistor, but something around 10k - 22k should put the transistor into saturation with enough current to drop the 3.3V on the C-Media chip to 1.0V or lower. That’s the approximate voltage were the logic switches states on the COS and CTCSS pins, and you have to go below that point for a reliable logic state.

If you are going directly from the switching transistors collector to pin - 48 on the chip, (and not also through a blocking diode) DO NOT install a pull-up resistor, or you’ll damage this “input” function. The chip already has an internal pull-up and adding one externally is NEVER necessary to assert the function. The COS and CTCSS inputs on the chip are not active high, already include a pull-up, so there’s no need to add a pull-up. If you take this pin stiffly to a voltage above 3.3 V you’ll damage the chip.

A complete explanation of these hardware inputs and how to correctly use them is available from the following web page:

Hope this helps…
Kevin W3KKC

Thanks Kevin, I have a shotkey diode on the COS pin 48.
I’m using an HTX-202 that goes high to 7.5V on the Busy.