Connecting Motorola GM300 to AllStar link

Hello.
I am a beginner with AllStar network.
I created a server and now I requested my first node.
I installed the software on raspberry pi and now I want to prepare the radio.
I want to use Motorola GM300 connected to USB sound card on raspberry pi. Do I need URI, or the transceiver can be connected direct to sound card ?
Do I need to use COR pin 8 ? I do not intend to use CTCSS.

In this moment the important question is how to connect the tranceiver to sound card of raspberry pi ?
I do not intend to buy URI because in this COVID context, from US to Europe it will take too much time for shipping and customs taxes etc. I cand build one if the schematic is not so complicate.
Repeater interface will be simplex node with CM1xx USB cards no/DSP.

I appreciate any advices and links to get this node on line and on air ASAP. :slight_smile:

Thank you !

1 Like

The onboard sound of the Pi hardware is not supported by ASL software.

You need to find a USB Sound Fob that has specific chip set in it.

Here are some of my favorites.

Masters Communications - RA-42 Radio Adapter Interface Board - by Masters Communications

Or

The URI-http://www.dmkeng.com/Products.htm 4

Or

Dinah - https://hamprojects.info/dinah/

Or you can build your own.

Marshall-ke6pcv

···

From: Iulian via AllStarLink Discussion Groups [mailto:noreply@community.allstarlink.org]
Sent: Thursday, August 06, 2020 1:28 PM
To: ke6pcv@cal-net.org
Subject: [AllStarLink Discussion Groups] [App_rpt-users] Connecting Motorola GM300 to AllStar link

|

iuliandj
August 6

|

• | - |

Hello.
I am a beginner with AllStar network.
I created a server and now I requested my first node.
I installed the software on raspberry pi and now I want to prepare the radio.
I want to use Motorola GM300 connected to USB sound card on raspberry pi. Do I need URI, or the transceiver can be connected direct to sound card ?
Do I need to use COR pin 8 ? I do not intend to use CTCSS.