Announcements on Node

Is it possible to play a scheduled announcement on our local node, like meeting reminders, etc at a certain time of day or hour? If so how would one go about doing it? I’m very new to AllStar and am using HamVoip.
Thanks

Yes, it is possible.
I rather use a cron job than put them on the RPT schedule. Have had plenty of times when the RPT schedule would not work but the cron will always work.
Probably I am talking Chinese to you by mentioning cron jobs as you said you were new to Allstar.

Unless you have voice announcements already in the required format, you’ll want to follow the HamVOIP Text To Speech (TTS) guide:

Then it is a matter of getting the cron daemon setup to run your announcement. To do so, select option 9 from the Admin menu to start a Bash shell. You should get a shell prompt with a # which tell you that you are logged in as “root” or the administrator account.

Type crontab -l and you’ll see several “jobs” already written in the file that have been printed to your screen. One of the jobs will probably look like this:

00 * * * * (source /usr/local/etc/allstar.env ; /usr/bin/nice -19 /usr/bin/perl /usr/local/sbin/saytime.pl $NODE1 > /dev/null)

That looks rather cryptic. The first thing to examine are the ‘00’ and four asterisks (you can see a reference manual (man page) of the crontab syntax by typing man 5 crontab).

In the cron syntax the first field is the minutes field. In this case the command should be run only with the minute of the system time is zero, i.e. the top of the hour. Sometimes you might see a * in that field and that means ‘run this job every minute’, or 00-59.

The second field is the hours. In this case the command will be run each hour, or 00-23.

The third field is the day of the month. In this case the command will be run every day, or 1-31 (odd syntax here as not every month has 31 days).

The fourth field is the month. In this case the command will be run every month, or 1-12.