Adding Allstar Server/Node to Motorola MTR-2000 Repeater

Hello,

I am new to Allstar and just setup my node a few weeks ago. Everything is working mostly working great. Recently, my friend and I had a conversation with another ham via my Allstar node. My friend was very impressed with the audio quality of the Allstar link and wants to add a node to his repeater. He is currently using a Motorola MTR-2000 repeater. Since then, we have both been researching what hardware is needed to setup and connect a node to his repeater. Our plan is to setup a node using a Raspberry Pi 3B board (because we had a spare one laying around) but how to connect it to the repeater is where it gets tricky. We found the URIx board from DMK Engineering, and I think we may be able to use that to connect the Raspberry Pi to the MTR-2000, but I’m not certain.

That is where my question come in. Does anyone have any experience connecting an AllStar node/server to a Motorola MTR-2000 repeater, and if so, would you be willing to share specifics on how you did it? Does anyone have any better suggestions on hardware to connect the MTR-2000 to AllStar?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Larry
N6LKA

Larry,

I have built a few interface cables for this setup.

You will need one of these for the MRT-2000.

Then an interface cable can be built from the URIxB to the MTR-2000 Interface adapter DB9 connector.

Marshall - ke6pcv

Thanks, Marshall.

I think I may have sent you an email earlier today as well on this topic. My friend is also looking to add in an MMDVM board to the repeater to make it a multi-mode repeater. However, when it is operating on analog, he wants to have AllStar capabilities.